André Katzenberger

Mr. Katzenberger, you studied energy and environmental technology at the TUHH. What memories do you associate with your studies at the Hamburg University of Technology?

Studying at the TUHH was an interesting experience for me. I gained many interesting insights along with some unpleasant experiences. What I was taught enriched me in general terms and taught me about engineering as a profession, but the B.Sc. was very general in content. The study programs were, in part, rigid and students were subjected to a relatively high level of pressure. That was why, after graduating with a B.Sc., I decided to start by getting a job.

What tasks do you face in your current job as Climate Protection Manager for the city of Hürth?

Climate Protection Manager is an appointment subsidized by the Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (BMUB) that in cities or local government areas performs cross-sectional tasks in connection with climate protection and energy. On the basis of a (partial) climate protection concept drawn up for a city or local government area the Climate Protection Manager is responsible for implementation. The main focus in Hürth is on the city’s municipal real estate and thus cover all areas, ranging from simple energy controlling (documenting, analyzing and optimizing consumption) and facility management (prioritization of measures, implementation of the necessary energy-saving renovation work) to user training, such as energy-saving projects in schools or with employees.

Are the knowledge and skills you acquired during your studies a help in your work?

The basic understanding of technology such as in the use of renewables or in construction work is a great help in enabling me to follow discussions with technicians and to make plans jointly with them. But the skills that are required of me as a Climate Protection Manager tend more to involve analytics and energy management, and I have acquired them step by step, on my own initiative, and out of interest.

Straight-line studies and resumé, first-rate grades and a head full of knowledge… What is important in later, career life?

None of the above. My TUHH degree grade was nothing special and my career has been anything but straightforward. What has counted for much more than any resumé, no matter how interesting it might be, is the self-assurance of knowing what I want to achieve and what I am capable of achieving. Don’t let yourselves be thrown off track, see the bigger picture, expand your horizons and stay true to yourselves. Demand for specialists is increasing constantly and your average graduate with no vision at all has long ceased to be of interest to companies.

André Katzenberger

 
Herr Katzenberger, Sie haben Energie- und Umwelttechnik an der TUHH studiert. Welche Erinnerungen verbinden Sie mit Ihrem Studium an der TUHH?
Das Studium an der TUHH war eine interessante Erfahrung für mich. Ich habe viele interessante Einblicke gewonnen, aber auch unangenehme Erfahrungen gemacht. So hat mich zwar der vermittelte Unterrichtsinhalt allgemein bereichert und über den Ingenieursberuf aufgeklärt, jedoch ist der Bachelor sehr allgemein geblieben. Die Studienpläne waren teils sehr starr und es wurde relativ viel Druck auf die Studierenden ausgeübt. Das waren auch die Gründe, weshalb ich nach dem Bachelor zunächst einmal arbeiten wollte.

Welche Aufgaben gilt es in Ihrem derzeitigen Job als Klimaschutzmanager der Stadt Hürth zu bewältigen?
Die Stelle des Klimaschutzmanagers ist eine vom BMUB (Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit; Anm. der Redaktion) geförderte Stelle, die in Kommunen oder Landkreisen Querschnittsaufgaben im Bereich Klimaschutz und Energie abdeckt. Auf Basis eines Klimaschutz(teil)konzepts, welches für eine Kommune erstellt wird, ist der Klimaschutzmanager für die Umsetzung verantwortlich. Der Schwerpunkt in Hürth liegt im Bereich der kommunalen Liegenschaften, umfasst also alle Bereiche vom einfachen Energiecontrolling (Verbräuche dokumentieren, analysieren und optimieren), Gebäudemanagement (Priorisierung von Maßnahmen, Umsetzung der notwendigen energetischen Sanierungen), aber auch Nutzerschulungen, wie z.B. Energiesparprojekte in Schulen oder mit Mitarbeitern.

Helfen Ihnen hierbei Ihre während des Studiums erworbenen Kenntnisse und Fertigkeiten?
Das technische Grundverständnis – z.B. beim Einsatz von erneuerbaren Energien oder auch bei baulichen Maßnahmen – hilft mir sehr, den Gesprächen der Techniker zu folgen und mit Ihnen gemeinsam planen zu können. Jedoch liegen die von mir als Klimaschutzmanager verlangten Fertigkeiten eher im analytischen Bereich und im Energiemanagement, was ich mir über Eigeninitiative und Interesse schrittweise angeeignet habe.

Geradliniges Studium und Lebenslauf, exzellente Noten, den Kopf voller Wissen… Was ist wichtig im späteren Berufsleben?
Nichts vom oben genannten. Mein Abschluss an der TUHH war eher mittelmäßig, mein Lebenslauf alles andere als geradlinig. Was jedoch viel mehr zählte als jeder noch so interessante Lebenslauf, ist das Selbstbewusstsein zu wissen was ich will und was ich kann. Lasst euch nicht aus der Bahn werfen, schaut über den Tellerrand hinaus, erweitert euren Horizont und bleibt euch treu. Fachkräfte werden mehr und mehr gesucht und der 08/15-Absolvent ohne Weitblick ist schon lange nicht mehr attraktiv für Unternehmen.