Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Daum

Nationality: German
City, Country: Silicon Valley, USA
Study Program/Degree: Physics at the University of Hamburg, followed by a doctoral dissertation on semiconductor technology at the TUHH / Dr.-Ing.
Year of Graduation: 1992, Dr.-Ing.
Employer & Position: TOMA Biosystems Inc., CEO

What motivated you to study at the TUHH, to study the subject that you chose and to choose your profession?
I had studied physics at the University of Hamburg and a doctorate at the TUHH gave me more time to look for something interesting. I also thought that an engineering degree would prove to be more practical. Back then the TUHH was in the process of being established and I found that great. You could make a difference.

What was for you an unforgettable experience during your time at the TUHH?
Helping to shape a new university. One special experience, given that computer technology back then was not as highly developed as it is today and that I was able to with the acquisition of books for the university library. You could still inadvertently hit the “format disk” button. The hard disk was then erased and we could start again from scratch. Truly embarrassing!

What could distract you at any time from learning?
Designing and developing something at the new university.

What do you use in your career that you studied at the TUHH?
Organizational structure at a university. Thinking logically. Thinking critically. Convincing people. All of these have served me well as an entrepreneur and an executive. Over the years I have founded several medical and biotech companies or helped
to shape them as a CEO. I came to the U.S. 15 years ago as a result of the sale of one of my companies. I am fascinated by how the Americans  develop companies. The basis is a good new idea around which you start by setting up a “virtual” company and using the shares in the company to fund it, thereby making the company “real.” In Boston the MIT founds around 300 companies a year, which is nearly a new company every day! More than 96 percent of them fail, but in America that is part of the deal. Failing to give it a try is the real failure, not the company going belly-up. I now live in Silicon Valley and am running my eighth biomedical company. In terms of the financial outcome the result has been three companies were good to very good, two failed, and two were OK.

What is the greatest thing about your job?
Having a free hand in company organization. Collaborating with people who aim to create something out of the ordinary. Working at the cutting edge of translational medicine. Independence.

What does your typical working day look like and which competences do you need for it?
It starts at 7 a.m. and I go home at 6 p.m. During the working day there are many meetings, phone calls, decisions to be made – often in the evening and on the weekend too.

I would love to exchange a day with …
… an engineer with a company that makes children’s toys.

What would you ask an omniscient researcher from the future?
Has the increasing medical knowledge we have gained really made us live longer and made us happy, or has it merely created more difficulties?

What was your favorite meal at the mensa back then?
Spaghetti and tomato sauce.

If you were President of the TUHH…
… I would promote and sponsor risk taking and accepting failure.

Dr.-Ing. Wolfgang Daum

Wolfgang Daum

Nationalität: Deutsch
Stadt, Land: Silicon Valley, USA
Studiengang, Abschluss: Physik Universität Hamburg; danach promoviert an der TUHH im Fach Halbleitertechnologie / Dr.-Ing.
Abschlussjahr: 1992
Arbeitgeber, Position: TOMA Biosystems Inc. / CEO Chief Executive Officer (Geschäftsführer)

Was war Ihre Motivation die TUHH, dieses Studienfach und diesen Beruf zu wählen?
Ich hatte an der Uni Hamburg Physik studiert und eine Promotion an der TUHH gab mir noch mehr Zeit etwas Interessantes zu suchen. Ich dachte auch, dass ein Ingenieurtitel praktischer sein wird. Die TUHH war damals gerade im Aufbau und das fand ich klasse. Da konnte man was bewegen.

Was war für Sie in der Zeit an der TUHH ein unvergessliches Erlebnis?
Das Mitgestalten einer neuen Universität. Spezielles Erlebnis: Die Computertechnik war damals noch nicht so entwickelt wie heute und ich durfte bei der Literaturbeschaffung der Universitätsbibliothek mithelfen. Dabei konnte man noch versehentlich den „Format Disk“ Befehl absenden. Dann war die Festplatte gelöscht und wir konnten wieder von vorne anfangen. Hochpeinlich!

Womit konnte man Sie jederzeit vom Lernen abhalten?
Irgendwas an der neuen Uni gestalten und aufbauen.

Was nutzen Sie aus dem Studium für Ihren Beruf?
Organisationsaufbau einer Uni. Logisches Denken. Kritisches Denken. Leute überzeugen. Das alles hat mir als Unternehmer/Manager gut getan. Über die Jahre habe ich mehrere Unternehmen in der Medizin- und Biotechnik gegründet oder als Geschäftsführer mitgestaltet. Vor 15 Jahren bin ich durch den Verkauf einer meiner Unternehmen in die USA gekommen. Mich fasziniert, wie die Amerikaner Unternehmen aufbauen. Die Grundlage ist eine gute neue Idee, um die man ein zunächst „virtuelles“ Unternehmen bildet, deren Anteile man dann nutzt, um das Unternehmen zu nanzieren. Damit wird das Unternehmen realistisch. In Boston gründet das MIT (Massachusetts Institute of Technology) circa 300 Unternehmen pro Jahr. Das ist fast ein neues Unternehmen pro Tag! Mehr als 96 Prozent scheitern, aber das gehört in Amerika dazu. Es nicht versucht zu haben ist das eigentliche Scheitern, nicht der Fehlschlag. Mittlerweile wohne ich in Silicon Valley und leite mein achtes Bio-Medizin-Unternehmen. Gemessen am finanziellen Ge- winn ist das Resultat: Drei Unternehmen liefen gut bis sehr gut, zwei scheiterten und zwei waren ok.

Was ist das Tollste an Ihrem Job?
Freie Möglichkeit der Gestaltung. Zusammenarbeit mit Leuten, die etwas Außerordentliches schaffen wollen. Mitmachen an der vordersten Spitze der „Translational Medicine“. Selbstständigkeit.

Wie sieht ein typischer Arbeitstag für Sie aus und welche Kompetenzen brauchen Sie dafür?
Um 7 Uhr fange ich an und gehe um 18 Uhr nach Hause. In der Zeit sind viele Meetings, Telefonate, Entscheidungen treffen, oft auch abends und am Wochenende.

Ich würde gerne mal einen Tag tauschen mit …
… einem Ingenieur eines Kinderspielzeugherstellers. .

Was würden Sie einen allwissenden Forscher aus der Zukunft fragen?
Haben uns die zunehmenden Kenntnisse in der Medizin tatsächlich langlebig und glücklich gemacht oder haben uns diese nur mehr Schwierigkeiten eingehandelt?

Ihr Lieblingsessen damals in der Mensa?
Spaghetti mit Tomatensauce.

Wenn Sie Präsident der TUHH wären…
… würde ich die Lust am Risiko und das Akzeptieren des Scheiterns fördern und sponsern.